Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology)


2024 Awardees for Science Excellence


This year the Awards Reception were held on Monday, 6 May, at the ISGC meeting in Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

Personal interviews with the awardees is in progress and will be posted to SEPM YouTube Channel when complete.


William H. Twenhofel Medal for a career of excellence in sedimentary geology

Dr. John Grotzinger

California Institute of Technology, California, USA,


Raymond C. Moore Medal for excellence in paleontology

Dr. Shuhai Xiao

Virginia Tech, Virginia, USA


Francis P. Shepard Medal for excellence in marine geology

Dr. Duncan FitzGerald

Boston University, Massachusetts, USA


Francis J. Pettijohn Medal for excellence in sedimentology and stratigraphy

Dr. Kitty Milliken

Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas at Austin, Texas, USA


William R. Dickinson Award for excellence in sedimentary geology by a mid-career geoscientist

Dr. Michael Smith

Northern Arizona University, Arizona, USA

 James Lee Wilson Award for excellence in sedimentary geology in an early career geoscientist

Dr. Miquela Ingalls

Penn State University, Pennsylvania, USA


SEPM Honorary Membership for contributions to SEPM and the science

Dr. M. Gabriela Mángano

University of Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan, Canada

Sadly Gabriela Could not attend the ISGC


Test newsletter