Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology

2023 Awardees for Science Excellence

William H. Twenhofel Medal for a career of excellence in sedimentary geology:

Dr. Gail Ashley

Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ, USA.


Raymond C. Moore Medal for excellence in paleontology:

Dr. James MacEachern

Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, Canada,


Frances P. Shepard Medal for excellence in marine geology:

Dr. Philip Barnes

National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, Wellington, New Zealand,  


Francis J. Pettijohn Medal for excellence in sedimentology and stratigraphy:

Dr.  Janok Bhattacharya

McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.


William R. Dickinson for excellence in sedimentary geology in mid-career:

Dr.  Cornel Olariu

Jackson School of Geosciences, Austin, TX, USA.


James L. Wilson Award for excellence in sedimentary geology in early career:

Dr. Emily Beverly

University of Houston, Houston, TX, USA.  ejbeverl@Central.UH.EDU 

We value your privacy

We use your data to provide and improve the Service. By using the Service, you agree to the collection and use of information in accordance with this policy.

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you consent to our usage of cookies in order to have the best possible experience on your device(s) in regard to enhanced site navigation, structure, analyze, marketing and performance.

We value your privacy

While using our Service, we may ask you to provide us with certain personally identifiable information that can be used to contact or identify you ("Personal Data"). Personally identifiable information may include, but is not limited to:

  • Email address
  • First and Last name
  • Phone number
  • Address, State, Province, ZIP/Postal code, City
  • Cookies and Usage Data

By clicking “Allow All” you consent to our usage of cookies in order to have the best possible experience on our websites. You can also set your preferences or reject cookies (excluding "Required" cookies)